Building Toward Our Future: The Seventh Annual Conference on Education

This year's conference "Building Toward Our Future" celebrated individual and collective contributions to helping Delaware public education become world-class, as well as discussed ways our state can build on those successes and continue our work to prepare our students for a lifetime of success.

Keynote speaker Amanda Ripley, author of "The Smartest Kids in the World: And How They Got That Way," gave a compelling presentation about students' experiences in high-performing education systems. She spoke about how Delaware can translate strategies and characteristics of these systems in our own state. Watch her presentation here.

About the Vision Coalition of Delaware

The Vision Coalition of Delaware, the leadership team that developed the Vision 2015 plan, include members from a broad range of public, private, and civic groups. The leadership groups, including the Steering Committee and Working Groups, meet regularly to align efforts, evaluate progress, and sustain momentum. Membership on the Vision Coalition Leadership Team has evolved over the past nearly ten years since the coalition was established during the development of the Vision 2015 plan, with all major stakeholder Delaware education organizations remaining committed to the plan and the Coalition, and have sustained representation on its leadership group.

The Vision Coalition Leadership Team:

  • Ernest Dianastasis, Managing Director, CAI (Computer Aid, Inc.); Chair
  • H. Raye Jones Avery, Executive Director, Christina Cultural Arts Center
  • Susan Bunting, Superintendent, Indian River School District
  • Paul A. Herdman, President and CEO, Rodel Foundation of Delaware
  • Mark Holodick, Superintendent, Brandywine School District
  • Frederika Jenner, President, Delaware State Education Association
  • Kurt Landgraf, former President and CEO, ETS
  • Mark Murphy, Secretary, Delaware Department of Education
  • Daniel Rich, Professor of Public Policy, University of Delaware
  • John H. Taylor, Jr., Executive Director, Delaware Public Policy Institute